St. Mary’s Castleisland

St. Mary’s Basketball Club Castleisland has been up and running since the late 1950’s, and from humble beginnings it has grown over the years. It is a voluntary organised club with the help of committee members, coaches and assistant coaches, table officials, referees and a junior tournament committee.

The biggest social event for the club each year is the Christmas Blitz, for the year 2010 it was the clubs 41st Annual Blitz. St. Mary’s have being running it’s Christmas Blitz since 1970 and like the club; the Blitz has been growing in stature and appeal annually as evidenced by statistics. The Blitz now runs for 5 days and caters for all players of all ages and grades starting with National Schools. Players are drawn from the local areas but with the success of the event we now have teams from all over Kerry and Ireland including the leading National League Basketball Clubs and we have had teams from America, Russia, England and Scotland. The Blitz is the biggest event of its kind in Ireland and because of timing, it blends the unique atmosphere of Christmas cheer and family spirit into an occasion which is looked forward to by all involved and has to be seen to be believed! The smooth running of this event is a major organisational achievement with 1600+ participants playing over 200 games in 24 competitions. Great credit has to be given to Tournament Director Donal O’Connor and Tournament Secretary Denny Porter who have strived to organise this event for decades. The funding of the Blitz is mostly from the goodwill of the local business community who sponsor competitions and advertisements in the programme of events. We are also indebted to Munster Joinery, Den Joe’s Restaurants, Garvey’s SuperValu and Walsh Colour Print for their very generous major sponsorship to date. The further development of the event is unlimited with the backing of such major sponsors of Local and National prominence.

Our Committee include:

Chairman – Denny Porter

Vice Chair – Maurice Casey

Senior Secretary – Reidin O Loughlin

Juvenile Secretary – Joanne Downey

PRO – Brid Kenny

Treasurer – Sile Kenny & Donal O Connor

Committee Members – Eamon Egan, Eileen Donoghue, Eileen O Connor, Darragh McCarthy, Vince Barry, Marie Porter, Bertie Hickey, Neilus Lyons.




Leave a Comment