Sep 2011 17

St. Mary’s Basketball Club Castleisland has been up and running since the late 1950’s, and from humble beginnings it has grown over the years. It is a voluntary organised club with the help of committee members, coaches and assistant coaches, table officials, referees and a junior tournament committee.

The biggest social event for the club each year is the Christmas Blitz, for the year 2010 it was the clubs 41st Annual Blitz. St. Mary’s have being running it’s Christmas Blitz since 1970 and like the club; the Blitz has been growing in stature and appeal annually as evidenced by statistics. The Blitz now runs for 5 days and caters for all players of all ages and grades starting with National Schools. Players are drawn from the local areas but with the success of the event we now have teams from all over Kerry and Ireland including the leading National League Basketball Clubs and we have had teams from America, Russia, England and Scotland. [..]

Sep 2011 17

Team Garvey’s John Teahan is named Basketball Ireland senior player of the year.

John Teahan has been named as the 2010/11 Basketball Ireland Senior Player of the year.  He was presented with his trophy at an award ceremony in the National Basketball Arena on Saturday last. John, who is admired for his ability and skill and loved for his unassuming attitude adds this title to a long list of achievements in his basketball career.

John started with St. Mary’s basketball club Castleisland. He transferred to Tralee Tigers where he had a fruitful super league career. He won two S.L. cup titles, three Superleague titles and a top eight.  He was superleague player of the year in 2002 which is an outstanding achievement in itself. During this time John was also an Irish International and has 20 international senior caps. Earlier this year he added a division one league title to his list and picked up MVP for his outstanding performance in the division men’s National League final. One of his personal favourite achievements is his win in the Nike Dunking competition in 1996.  Nike did a European tour and John scooped the Dublin section. [..]

Sep 2011 29

Team Garvey’s St. Mary’s announced details of their squad set up at the weekend.  Dave Falvey has been named as coach; he takes over from Brian Clernon. Dave is not entirely new to the side as he coach Team Garvey’s for some time in 2007.
While last season saw Garvey’s retain their league title it also brought some injuries to the side. Dan Griffin sustained a knee injury and is expected to be out for at least the first half of the season while John Galvin will miss this season entirely having injured his cruciate ligament while playing football. However along with the remaining members of the 2010/11 side there are some new additions to the side, Paudie Fleming who has been out for two years due to an injury is back as is Thomas Regan. Billy Wiseman is new to the squad and Daragh Jones who joined St. Mary’s last season will line out with Team Garvey’s for the first time this season.
There have been some changes to the conference set up this season, both Maree and Titans have joined the Northern conference while Team Left Bank Kilkenny are new to the Southern Conference. Each team will play teams from their own conference twice and play one cross conference game. The southern conference is made up of: Team Garvey’s, Meadowland’s St. Brendan’s, Neptune, UCC Demons and Kilkenny while the Northern Conference includes Maree, Titans, Ballina, Portlaoise and Ballon.  Team Garvey’s first game of the season is on September 30th away to Portlaoise while their first home game will be on Saturday October 8th against Titans.

Nov 2011 11

Castleisland Community Centre in partnership with St Marys Basketball Club will hold a Monster Bingo on Tuesday 22nd November 2011 at 8.30pm. €4000 in prize money will be given away on the night with lots of spot prizes. Single books €10, Double €13 Jackpot €3 Golden Line €2. Tickets are onsale now from any of the St Marys committee or coaches. All support is greatly appreciated.

Jan 2012 06

The 42nd Annual Christmas Blitz results are now available on the Xmas blitz page. Also check out or the gallery for pictures of the event. Thanks to everyone that helped out to make it such a success and to all the teams who particpated. Congratulations to James McCarthy Kilcow the winner of the 42″ TV. Hope to see you all for the 42nd Annual Blitz.